High grade MTB pedals on a road bike?

mlkovacs

Dec 7, 2003
Hello all! I've been MTBing for many years, and raced for a couple of years. I'm very much a gear head. Anyhow, I plan on purchasing a road bike next year, and would like to use the same shoes ( Sidi Mountain Action '03 ), which means the road bike would need SPD pedals. I have Shimano SPD-M959 on the MTB bike, which are a high grade MTB pedals. Has anyone heard of using MTB pedals on a road bike? I know that there currently is a SPD pedal out there for road bikes, but I've read bad reviews, and it only has one interface, while the MTB pedal has two ( less wear ).

I likely won't race, but will definitely go on long rides. I already put slicks on the MTB and go for 100-150 mile bike rides, and never had a pedal issue.

Any thoughts?

Originally posted by mlkovacs
Hello all! I've been MTBing for many years, and raced for a couple of years. I'm very much a gear head. Anyhow, I plan on purchasing a road bike next year, and would like to use the same shoes ( Sidi Mountain Action '03 ), which means the road bike would need SPD pedals. I have Shimano SPD-M959 on the MTB bike, which are a high grade MTB pedals. Has anyone heard of using MTB pedals on a road bike? I know that there currently is a SPD pedal out there for road bikes, but I've read bad reviews, and it only has one interface, while the MTB pedal has two ( less wear ).

I likely won't race, but will definitely go on long rides. I already put slicks on the MTB and go for 100-150 mile bike rides, and never had a pedal issue.

Any thoughts?

I have them on my road bike - only because my mtn. shoes are so comfy - and haven't had any problem at all. Go for it :D

Tim

Used to do that before I got Looks. One thing about road pedals is that they usually are longer/wider than MTB pedals so your weight will get distributed slightly better. Bottom line is if it works for you go for it.