High HR at race - Low HR with PC coach

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by Toon, Aug 27, 2003.

1. Toon

Toon Guest

Hi,

I'm 27. I finished my first race ever, a few weeks ago. (Boy, that felt good)

It was a duathlon: 3.6K - 20k - 3.6K

In Januari 2003 I started training aerobically at a fitness centre. I was 'diagnosed' to have a
    fitness level of 4/7 (being pretty much a couch potato). in June I got up to 7/7. After that, I got
    myself a Polar 720i and started training with the PC Coach software (Mige Piggs).

So from June to August I started training at a HR of about 143-153 as recommended by Maffetone in
    the PC Coach software. No problem. I liked that. Pace was good and all.

Then on race day (3rd August) (temperature 100°F/ 35°C) I planned to bring up my HR gradually, but
    as you can see from my HR-curve http://www.geocities.com/tooners22/Duathlon_Tongeren.jpg (picture
    can be blown up a bit) I pretty much stayed at 185 during the entire race.

I was a bit surprised I could keep it up that long (73 min.) without tipping over.

Q1: Is this healthy?
    Q2: Is my training HR appropriate for this kind of race and race HR?
    Q3: I had the impression my body wasn't taking up much liquid anymore. Is it the HR?
    Q4: Now what?

:)

Cheers,

Toon

Tags:

2. MJuric

MJuric Guest

On 27 Aug 2003 03:06:46 -0700, [email protected] (Toon) wrote:

>Hi,
    >
    >I'm 27. I finished my first race ever, a few weeks ago. (Boy, that felt good)

Congrats!

>
    >It was a duathlon: 3.6K - 20k - 3.6K
    >
    >In Januari 2003 I started training aerobically at a fitness centre. I was 'diagnosed' to have a
    >fitness level of 4/7 (being pretty much a couch potato). in June I got up to 7/7. After that, I got
    >myself a Polar 720i and started training with the PC Coach software (Mige Piggs).
    >
    >So from June to August I started training at a HR of about 143-153 as recommended by Maffetone in