Jack Fabros

Jun 24, 2016
Fort McMurray
So I just got my fixed gear bike today and tomorrow I'm going to try to ride on this highway.

Do you guys think I should take the sidewalk first and practice riding my bike before taking this narrow highway? I'm not quite sure for myself. I'm confident but not really.

Attachments

• image.png
    image.png
    1,004.2 KB · Views: 29
Yeah, you should ride on the sidewalk. The highway looks very busy and that is why I would recommend you to use the sidewalk for your first ride. You should practice before riding on the main road. Most people try to ride without practicing at all but that is a bad idea and you should not do that. So, go and practice.

Reactions: Jack Fabros
I don't see any sidewalk and that road is too narrow and busy to practice with a fixed gear. I would suggest a road less traveled.

Reactions: Jack Fabros
I agree with everyone else, I've been riding for over 40 years and did a lot of riding in the downtown Los Angeles and the county of Los Angeles, on many highways all over California (areas where bikes were allowed to be on of course) and that highway you're showing doesn't look like an idea place to ride on. You would have to ride it by taking the lane, and if the speed limit is 55 or so and with people too busy text messaging and yakking on their cell phones may not see you as they race up behind you doing 65 or 70 not expecting someone to be on a bike doing 14 mph.

thanks for your responses. I actually did not know that the sidewalk was wide enough for pedestrians and cyclists since Im new to the area lol. Yeah I guess no highways for me from how I performed today. Still need to fully know how my bike works