Hill climb training - help needed.

knuckles84

Dec 8, 2012
Hi all.
New here. Be nice.

Basically I have been cycling for about 5 years. But I am one of those people with too many hobbies and never put very many km's in on the bike compared to more serious cyclists.

My problem is I am fine with sprinting flats and descents. I can hold my own when the distance starts getting up there but as soon as a hill climb comes up I practically stop dead. usually travelling only half the speed of even much less experienced riders.

I am not a big guy either. About 74kg at 5'10. I am carrying a little more bulk up top than most cyclists due to swimming/surfing/gym etc but nothing too extreme.

If I can give an example using Strava - I can usually get positions in the top 10 of flat sprint segments in my area but average between 900th and 1700th for hill climbs. (Most segments in my area generally have about 2000 positions).

It is very frustrating to hit a climb and have beginners and much bigger less fit looking people smash past me. ( especially when I just have to overtake them again after the hill is over).

If someone could recommend some training that may assist for hill climbs I would really appreciate it.

At present I hit a local hill that I struggle to reach the top of as fast as I can twice a week. Plus squats, lunges, leg press, leg extensions, leg curls in the gym on legs day.

General riding is maybe 100-200kms a week but can vary alot. Especially when the surf is up.

Obviously everyone has there strenghts and weaknesses. I would just like to work on my weakness as it seems disproportionate to the rest of my ability.

Thanks