hip pain - Snapping hip syndrome?

jza86058

Jan 5, 2005
Hi, I'm 37 years old and have been training for about six years now. I had some reasonable results last year and just missed getting my 2nd Cat license by a few points. Unfortunaly however I have developed an odd hip pain. It's hard to describe and I am no medical expert so take these terms with a pinch of salt. Basically, I get an achy pain in the area to the rear of my greater trochanter (bony prominance on femur) pretty much all the time. Occasionally when, for example, I straighten up after tying a shoe lace I can feel something "ping" in my hip - which I guess could be my Tensor Facia Lata? muscle. It only affects my right side, but I'm starting to imagine the same sensation on the other side now as well. (had it for about 9 months ).

I have read about something called "lateral extra-articular snapping hip syndrome" and it sounds about right (certainly better than the bad back - referred pain diagnosis my physio gave me).

Has anybody else had this type of thing? Can anybody help recommend a set of suitable stretches / exercises that might ease the problem?

The pain is not bad enough to stop me competing yet, but it's a worry. p.s. I had a hip x-ray and it was normal.

Your help is much appreciated.

Welcome to your late thirties.:)

jza86058 said: