Hope I don't get flamed

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by Jason C. Heath, Jun 15, 2003.

1. hey all, this is my first time here so if i commit a posting error with my questions i apologize in
    advance. i'm finally getting back on the bike and in the pool after almost a year off due to knee
    and leg injuries and i'm in the market for new sweat proof/water proof watch. can anyone give me any
    imput on the timex ironman, is the heartrate monitor reasonably accurate? i don't see me doing any
    competing in the near future but would like to monitor my progress. i'd like to have good and bad
    experiences with the watch please.

thanks folks, jch

Tags:

2. I've had no experience with Timex HR Monitors. I have a speed+distance that works pretty well.

Suggest a moderate priced Polar if you want a very reliable HR Monitor with some functionality. I
    have an S210 that's almost 3 years old...no problems.

Also suggest that if you're serious about watching your progress, you might want to hook up with
    someone who can do some basic HR and LT/AT testing up front. This will give you your accurate
    training ranges out of the gate.

"Jason C. Heath" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
    > hey all, this is my first time here so if i commit a posting error with my questions i apologize
    > in advance. i'm finally getting back on the bike and in the pool after almost a year off due to
    > knee and leg injuries and i'm in the market for new sweat proof/water proof watch. can anyone give
    > me any imput on the timex ironman, is the heartrate monitor reasonably accurate? i don't see me
    > doing any competing in the near future but would like to monitor my progress. i'd like to have
    > good and bad experiences with the watch please.
    >
    > thanks folks, jch

3. MJuric

MJuric Guest

On 15 Jun 2003 21:26:46 -0700, [email protected] (Andrew Coleman) wrote: