How Am I Doing?

LLL

Jul 19, 2003
I'm new to biking (other than when I was a kid) and am curious how I'm doing. Here are the basic facts:

Height: 5, 9"
Weight: 170 (need to lose 20 if I can!)
Level of exercise: Little-to-none

I've been riding my Lemond Zurich now for a couple of months. I try to ride three times a week but I suspect I've only averaged around twice a week. I realize I gotta get more time on the bike, maybe once every other day. Nonetheless, I can tell my performance is improving. My typical run is a 19 - 22 mile jaunt over slightly hilly terrain. It's about a 30/70 split between local roads and bike path. I try to ride fairly quickly but am not killing myself. I'm now able to average about 14.1 to 14.2 mph and don't have to use as low a gear on some hills -- two months ago when I started I averaged less than 12. Additionally, I occasionally take a much longer run on the weekends 30 - 35 miles but I don't even bother to check my average speed then.

How am I doing? It's OK be brutal. What should I do to improve my performance?

Any advice would be welcomed. TIA

Sounds like your on the right path, though 3 to 4 rides a week would be much better with some interval training thrown in.

I am 45, 5'10" 158lbs and can average 18MPH on 20mi rides. This
is my second season of serious cycling. I am approaching 1000 miles since April. I hope to complete 2000 before the snow flies
and the start of the ski season.

I would like to go head to head with riders my age just to see how I stack up. I got my butt kicked by a 14 year old kid this week. It was a humbling experience.

If you can manage 4 rides a week you should be able to make some rapid improvements. Don't sweat the weight - as you start to ride more and better it will go away!

Make one ride -- like your occasional weekend ride -- a longer ride of 2:30 or 3:00 hours. If you can find a local group ride you'll find that will help you to improve and you'll benefit a lot from the other riders.