How can I start cross-country mountain biking?

anderzoho

Jul 17, 2013
[COLOR= rgb(51, 51, 51)]I'm 18 years old and I looove mountain biking. I do track, so I have a lot of endurance and I have good muscles from gymnastics, which will help me a lot with my biking. I bike a lot but I just do it for fun-- I'd really like to compete in a race, but I've never done a biking race before. How can I start? Where can I find a local race? How do I figure out what ability level I should enter in? I know track helps a lot with training for biking, but what else can I do? We also weight train a lot--which is good because I don't do gymnastics anymore. Any answers are greatly appreciated :):)[/COLOR]

[FONT= 'Arial']Assuming you live in the states, the following link to USA cyclings website can help you get started: http://www.usacycling.org/news/user/story.php?id=2622.  Also you can search for events by region on Bikereg.com.  Any races sanctioned by USA cycling will require you to have a USA cycling license.  You can apply for one online, or most races will allow you to sign up at the event.  Given your athletic background, I would say you should start at the Cat 3 level.  Some events do offer a "first timers" category, but this is usually for people with 6 months of riding experience or less.  It doesn't sound like you fit that description, nor do I think you would be challenged in that category.
[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial'] 
[/FONT]