How can I up my gearing???

screwball2

Jul 4, 2009
I have a Viking Targa Mantra mountain bike. It is driving me crazy that on either the road or a slight incline my feet are peddling like a fiddlers elbow yet no real speed at all! my gearing is 42-14 with a 7 speed rear sprocket. It seems impossible to find an 11 small sprocket - anyone suggest?????

figure out if you have a freewheel or freehub design, then choose the proper cogset. if you have a freewheel, you'll probably have to settle for a 12 as your high gear. if you have a cassette, it's easy to get an 11.

Thanks for your time but I am very new to this, How do I tell which of the two options I have - freewheel or the other (I believe the correct terminology is cassette or block????). I need Speeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed >>>>>>>

you probably need someone to show you or tell you the difference. you probably have a freewheel, but i can't be sure. ask a bike shop tech, tell him what you want. any worth their salt should be able to get you more gear either way.

screwball2 said:
I have a Viking Targa Mantra mountain bike. It is driving me crazy that on either the road or a slight incline my feet are peddling like a fiddlers elbow yet no real speed at all! my gearing is 42-14 with a 7 speed rear sprocket. It seems impossible to find an 11 small sprocket - anyone suggest?????

It is very difficult to find a CASSETTE which has a 14t smallest cog, so your rear wheel probably has a FREEWHEEL.

You have two easy (as in, economical) options ... you can probably fit a larger chainring on your crankarm ... 48t is the largest that is commonly available for a 4-arm 104BCD crank.

OR, you can buy a SUNRACE Freewheel to replace the one you have ... a 7-speed SunRace Freewheel will have a 13t smallest cog -- going from a 14t cog to a 13t cog is a bigger difference than it probably sounds like.

OR, you can do both (i.e., change the Freewheel AND chainring).