How do I instal a Rear Carrier???

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jeannette

Hi all, I am a newbie both to the newsgroup and the world of cycling. I am using my bike to cycle to
and from work and bought a TIOGA carrier to attach to the back of my bike (an AVANTI hybrid thing).
The guy at the store explained briefly how to attach the carrier but bringing it back home I realise
I have no idea how to go about this. I could take it back to the store and have them charge me a
ridiculous amount to instal it for me, but I'd rather do it myself. Could anyone direct me to a
website etc. that is a step-by-step guide on how to instal these things? Thanks, Jeannette.

On 9 Jan 2003 16:31:08 -0800, [email protected] (Jeannette) wrote:
> Hi all, I am a newbie both to the newsgroup and the world of
cycling.
> I am using my bike to cycle to and from work and bought a TIOGA carrier to attach to the back of
> my bike (an AVANTI hybrid
thing). The
> guy at the store explained briefly how to attach the carrier but bringing it back home I realise I
> have no idea how to go about
this. I
> could take it back to the store and have them charge me a
ridiculous
> amount to instal it for me, but I'd rather do it myself. Could
anyone
> direct me to a website etc. that is a step-by-step guide on how
to
> instal these things? Thanks, Jeannette.

Should be pretty straightforward.

Bolt the bottom of the carrier to the eyelets on the dropout, make sure it's level. Screw the top of
the long steel stays on the rack, adjusting them to the length they need to be to meet the seatstays
of your frame. Then, bolt these to the seatstay eyelets (bend them to fit if you have to). Simple.

No eyelets?

the rack should come with some black-plastic covered P-clamps; these go in the appropriate spots
on the chainstays and seatstays of your bike; clip these onto the appropriate spots, and bolt the
rack to them.

Make sure your screws clear the chain when shifted to the outermost cog.

-Luigi

---