How do the pros hit those top speeds?

Status
Not open for further replies.
"warren" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:050620032241570053%[email protected]...
> In article <[email protected]>, Raptor <[email protected]> wrote:
>
> > [email protected] wrote:
> > >>I don't think they do hit those speeds -- the commentators are exaggerating.
> > >>
> > >>JT
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > I remember a few times during last years Tour when the peleton was on the flats and the camera
> > > shoed the motorcycles speedo and it indicated 70-80 km/h while it was beside the group.
> > >
> > > That seems pretty fast for flats.
> >
> > During last year's Vuelta, the camera motos showed 80 kph by the Aqua Sapone train before the
> > sprint, but the conventional wisdom is that the motos weren't truly keeping pace with the bikes.
> >
> > I'd buy 40 mph for a pro peloton on flats, but not 45 without harder info. I'm not a pro, but it
> > was all I could do to touch 40mph on flats with a very strong tailwind last year. (Though a trip
> > to analyticcycling.com now makes me doubt it. I've calculated 220W from me in a time-trialish
> > situation, assuming a pro puts out 400W, they only get to low 30's.)
>
> I do 400-500+ watts during the finale of 35+ 1,2,3 criteriums so I'd assume the pros are alot
> higher than that.
>
> -WG

Seems low Warren . Do you mean on the last few laps or in a sprint?

Danny Callen

"Davide Tosi" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> "Nick Burns" <[email protected]> wrote:
>
> >You have that backwards. I wish everyone would use the metric system but that certainly does not
> >make the Americans and Brits any less civilized.
I
> >love Italy, but there it is far less civilized than any country using the imperial system of
> >measurement.
>
> Where in Italy have you been? If you talk about anything south of Rome, you are more than right.
> If you are talking about Lombardy or any other Padan region, that must be
a
> joke.