How Do You Get Started With Campagnolo?

BobCochran

May 3, 2015
Bearing in mind that I'm new to modern bicycling...how does one get started with using Campagnolo parts? Can I take an existing bicycle and convert to Campagnolo parts? Or is a custom built bicycle needed?

Thanks a ton

Bob

While there may well be some oddball configurations out there, frames are RARELY brand-specific that way.

But bike parts are a lot more expensive when bought piecemeal compared to when bought as a complete bike.
So depending on your bargain hunting skills it may well be cheaper to buy a complete Campy-equipped bike instead of transforming an existing bike. Some parts - like a bottom bracket - might be needed to complete the transplant.

Maybe even do a 2-way swap, and then sell the donor bike on, with your discarded parts on it.

Reactions: BobCochran
All my riding life I've wanted a Campy equiped bike!

Over the years I could've afforded one but then my next bike would be Shimano.....sigh :huh:

Finally last year I got a secondhand Pinarello in Carbon with full 10 speed Record :D
Its nice (apart from the seatpost clamp breaking - though I still ride it) but I have to say that the Shimano levers (the smaller ones) perform a lot better (less pressure needed and easier to operate from the drops) than the Campag ones.

Also I bought a 50 to replace the 53 and the cost shocked me compared with Shimano. I went for good secondhand.

Its cool to have something that isn't Shimano though :) so happy hunting.

1. Price check all the English and American web dealers of Campy groups for price.

2. Go for Record/Super Record if you can afford it, if you are building your dream bike for every use except racing.

3. Buy Chorus if you are on a budget or are going racing. Yeah, you'll trash it, but even beat to **** Campy looks better than shiny new shitmaNO.

4. Mechanical or EPS, both shift with speed and accuracy.