How do you prevent falling when...

BIGGERSTUFF

Jul 9, 2003
Hello all,

I was riding on some hills in Pacifica, CA. I am still a beginner but I think the hills there are pretty advance (lots of jumps, I have to carry my bike for some part). But I have a question on controlling the bike when going down some VERY steep dirt/mud hills. There was this one hill where it's impossible to just fly down because it would get too dangerous (couldn’t see what’s on the other side), but when I use my brake my back wheel would lock up and I would fish tail left and right. But if I use my front brake I would flip forward. I was trying to brake/release similar to an ABS for a automobile but if i let go of my brake for just one second i would pick up speed FAST and increase the chance of falling.

I'm looking forward into being a better rider but any tips/advice I can practice. Or what would you guys do when you face a hill like this? Thx in advance

Get right back over your bike so that your bum is over the back of your saddle and your body is low. This will increase traction at your back wheel and prevent you from going over the handlebars (so easily).

Keep your pedals level and your legs bent. Arms should be wide on your bars, slightly bent. Keep your body relaxed, but 'strong' so that you control the bike not the other way round.

Use your back brake first, easing it on until you feel the wheel lock. Hold the brake on as much as you can before it locks up, if it locks up or your back wheel swings to either side release it a little until you regain control. Lean further over the back of your bike to incraese traction when needed.

A little pressure on your front brake (only when the back brake is on) will help keep you slowing, but it is essential that you do not lock your front wheel.

Finaly choose your line well, looking for the parts that are least steepest, most smoothest and offer best traction.