How do you solve the hunger issues?

AdamSean

Aug 11, 2011
I am new to trying to watch what I eat. I am trying to lose 15 to 20 lbs during my triathlon training. I have been able to lose the weight in the past by lifting weights. I have plenty of workouts planned and will drop the weight in a couple of months. What I want to know is a good way to push aside those boredom hunger cravings. If I am sitting at home resting, I tend to go looking for a snack. And end up doing that all day. Then I hate myself.

How do you 'Punch hunger in the face'?

A way to solve boredom hunger pangs...

... don't become bored. ;)

Seriously, do something. Go wash the bike and do some basic maintenance. Go do some stretches or go for a gentle ride on the bike if you're bored and fancy some relaxing time. If you've been carrying the bike around in the back of the car, go see if there's any oil stains from the chain on the interior that could do with a wipe down. You get the idea :p

Often, when I'm in that situation I figure that I'm actually over-tired and a snooze will take care of things nicely and I never wake up hungry or have a desire to snack as long as I've had my "3 square" that day.

If I'm completely bored to the point where I can't be bothered doing anything - I'll just go chill in a hot bath and listen to some music.

[SIZE=10.5pt]Have some healthy snacks at hand so that when you are feeling hungry, what you grab is something you will not be guilty of upon eating. It is also a mind over matter thing in which you have to avoid thinking of food when you are hungry and think of all the training and effort to went through in order for you to lose all that weight. Eating small and frequent meals throughout the day also helps in keeping you full without overeating and triggering cravings and pigging out. [/SIZE]