How do you train more and keep your legs fresh?

beison

Feb 18, 2008
I'm pretty new to the whole racing scene, but I'm really pumped about improving. This is my first season racing collegiate, and after 7 races I've had 4 top 5 finishes and moved up a category. I'm really looking forward to the summer season, and have a goal of upgrading to Cat 3's by September.

To get to this peak, I know I need to put in a lot of hours of training, with a lot of hard, high intensity intervals. I've looked up a bunch of info on training, and I think I understand most of the principals of rest days, hard riding, recovery spins, eating right after a ride and then eating enough to recover lost calories ect... The one thing I'm confused with however, is how I can increase my volume of training. I'm doing a solid 8-10 hours of training per week, plus a road race, and a crit every weekend. Once school's over, I'll have time to do a little more training, but every time I try to increase my training load, my body feels burned out and going on what info is on the web, that means I should take a rest day, limiting the amount/intensity of training I can do that day.

I'll give an example of my past training week, and maybe you guys can provide some advice on a way to switch things up so my legs won't feel dead. I'm also a big 180lb sprinter, if that changes anything you'd suggest.

Saterday -- Race
25 mile road race
Sunday --Race
16 mile crit
Monday -- Long ride
35 miles of spinning in HR zone 2/3 (sometimes dipping into zone 4)
Tuesday -- Hill training (elevated front wheel on trainer) and SST work
35 min of 1min intervals, 3 min rest in HR zone 5/6 followed by 45 min SST w/no breaks
Wednesday -- Tempo day
25 mile tempo ride in HR zone 3
Thursday -- Sprint training
60 min sprint intervals in HR zone 5-6, 30 sec on@high cadence 4 min recovery in between, 20 min form sprint intervals to increase max cadence
Friday -- rest day,
20 min light spin