How does TT training transfer to Climbing?

quenya

Jan 14, 2010
Hey all, I would like to hear some opinions on how training for TTs will affect my climbing?

I'm 28yo. 5'10" currently 165 lbs (trying to drop this to maybe as low as 155 depending on how my body likes that weight.) I had been too sedentary for a few years until last June when I started training for my first marathon, 3:59:59 on 11/8/09. Since then I have been riding on the road, training for the Climb to Kaiser (155mi 14,000' elevation gain) which I finished well ahead of my training partners. In our small group I became the strongest climber by a fair margin but, I was quite a bit weaker on the flats than most of the group. Since the CTK, 6/26/10, I've switched my focus to getting faster on the flats using 2x20 intervals 2-3 times a week, as well as running (well trying to run, its been over 100 degrees almost everyday since 6/27) to prepare for the 50k option of the same marathon I ran last year, not to improve my cycling.

Our local club has monthly TTs, and a Team TT next month, which I will participate in. Next season I plan to do a few road races, more TTs, maybe crits which scare me, and of course my biggest priority is the CTK which I will be aiming to win/set a course record until I do it.

I use the same bike for road riding and TTs, a kestrel talon, I've set it up with clip on aero bars and a forward/raised saddle position. I think I have a pretty good aero position, narrow, flat-ish back, I have been getting faster with practically every workout as I get used to a very strange position. FWIW when I climb I can, and usually do, stand for most of the time. On Old Tollhouse a relatively close climb, and part of the CTK, is 6.60 mi avg ~7% with sections at the top hitting 13 or 15% I stand for ~40 minutes of the 44-50 that it takes me to ride. On Big Creek 3.75mi of ~10% with sections of 20+% I'm out of the saddle virtually the whole time about 35 min.