How has does power develop over time?

objective

Jul 5, 2005
I'm attempting to asses gains in power that I've made over the last year and I'm finding more questions than answers. So, I thought I would ask the question "out loud", so to speak.

* What kind of gains in power can one expect to see over a 3-5
year period starting from a couch-potato?

* Is there anyway to predict FT or asses FT potential?

* Does functional threshold level off after some initial period of training?
Would it be safe to say that this leveling off could take 3-5 years to
reach? Assume 15-20 hours a week of structured training.

* Do elite cyclists generaly continue to increase their FT from season
to season or do they simply try to manage *when* they will be the
strongest in a season?

Also, would anyone care to share their power development stories?

BACKGROUND
----------
I'm a 34 year old newbie. I've been riding for 14 months.
Here's are some of my data points.

Best 20 Minute power values.
NP AVR DATE
---------------------
229 (214) 11-2004
271 (237) 1-21-2005
247 (242) 5-7
278 (244) 7-1
315 (253) 8-6