How long before you can become 'competitive' in Cat 5?

Aztec

Jul 8, 2003
After a 17 year layoff from riding (age 38 now), I picked up the bike again a year ago. I started riding more seriously in October (joined CTS, see other thread), mostly low intensity. In March, I began to add some intensity. Seemed like a good plan.

Well, it's mid-June, and I've done 3 twilight practice crits. Got dropped on the last lap on the first, 3 laps from the end on the 2nd, and finished with the pack on the 3rd. Today was my first real crit (cat 4/5 of course), and I lasted 15 of the 40 minutes. Hardly anyone dropped, which leads me to believe that I am unusually unfit!!

Is it normal for an ordinary guy (i.e., no genetic phenom) to not even be able to stay in the pack in the first year? Am I too ambitious thinking I should be able to by now? I'm curious to hear the experiences of others out there. I'm seriously discouraged.

TRD609

Jan 3, 2004