How long should a beginners starter route be?

Jamiezx9r

Jun 10, 2010
I'm just getting started into the road cycling, and I currently do a set circuit of flats, some steep hills, and downhills. The route is about 10km max, as I'm not road fit enough yet to extend it. My time for the route in the dry and wet is 23 minutes. Not very good but its a start....

I know some of you will scoff at this time, and say I'm very unfit, but my job as a truck driver & mechanic doesn't help either, as I do some extremely long unsocialable hours, and getting time out on a pedal bike is reserved for weekends. By the time I come home from work its way too late, and all I want to do is get washed, eat dinner (at 9pm) then sleep for 6 hours before I've to start again..:mad::mad:

Jamiezx9r said:
I'm just getting started into the road cycling, and I currently do a set circuit of flats, some steep hills, and downhills. The route is about 10km max, as I'm not road fit enough yet to extend it. My time for the route in the dry and wet is 23 minutes. Not very good but its a start....

I know some of you will scoff at this time, and say I'm very unfit, but my job as a truck driver & mechanic doesn't help either, as I do some extremely long unsocialable hours, and getting time out on a pedal bike is reserved for weekends. By the time I come home from work its way too late, and all I want to do is get washed, eat dinner (at 9pm) then sleep for 6 hours before I've to start again..:mad::mad:

All of us started as unfit, some started as unfit then got fit then became unfit again and started all over to become fit again, so your perfectly normal and I for one, as well as others here will not be scoffing you!

I have a friend who is a truck driver so I know the kind of hours you work. I also think those hours you can legally work are too long and there are very tired truckers on the road.