How Many Hours?

macca1234

Aug 9, 2005
i am 14 years old, 5 foot 6 -128 pounds and want to be as good a cyclist as i can. I have been riding properly for about 2 years and am just starting to race now. I ride 300-400 km's a week and swim and run 4 times a week. should i be doing more or less, do u recommend riding in the morning? and should i be going to the gym? is it beneficial at my age or should i just do sit ups and core body exercises at home? any advice from you wiser cyclists would be much appreciated.

macca1234 said:
i am 14 years old, 5 foot 6 -128 pounds and want to be as good a cyclist as i can. I have been riding properly for about 2 years and am just starting to race now. I ride 300-400 km's a week and swim and run 4 times a week. should i be doing more or less, do u recommend riding in the morning? and should i be going to the gym? is it beneficial at my age or should i just do sit ups and core body exercises at home? any advice from you wiser cyclists would be much appreciated.

If you want to concentrate purely on cycling, you could probably stop the running and swimming, but those are also good exercise and can help break the routine and keep you fit. I also think weight training in the offseason is good. Ride whenever you have time/ feel like.

If you are that young, and handling that kind of volume, I really wouldn't worry! Sounds like you are well on your way.

Eventually you can get yourself a coach and focus on specifics. For now, ride lots, race lots, and enjoy it.

macca1234 said:

The key question: Do you enjoy it?