How many miles should chain ring last?

tjonz

Jul 10, 2008
I know that the answers to this question will be extremely variable due to riding conditions, chain condition, etc but I have never ridden a bike for this many miles since I was a youngster. When I was 10 - 14 I couldn't care less about bike condition. I just hopped on and rode. I purchased my Felt F75 in March of 2010 and have currently ridden it 3400 miles. I replaced the factory chain with a new one at 3000 miles. My Park chain gauge told me it was time. I checked the rear cogs for wear and really didn't notice much at that time. The other day while adjusting my front deraileur I noticed on the big chain ring the beginnings of the "shark tooth" wear on the teeth. Not affecting performance yet but I just didn't know if this should be normal for the miles on the drive train. The crank is Shimano 105 compact 50/34. It is the stock component that Felt put on it.

Like I mentioned above, I have no past experience to judge how long a chain ring should last. I want to ride this steed for another year or two. If I upgraded crank/chainrings to Ultegra would effective service life increase or remain about the same?

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Tony J

I have heard that with the narrow chains required by 10-cog rear clusters, chain life is much less. I have replaced the last two chains at about 2,000 miles. I leave the decision to my LBS. Kind of a double wammy: not only do I have to replace the chain more often, but the chains are also more expensive than they used to be with 6 and 7 cog clusters. Oh well. I do not believe I helped you much, since I believe that you are more knowledgeable than I am; I do not even have a tool to measure the chain.

Lew