How much does less weight help?

aleeharmon

Oct 30, 2003
Hello I am relatively new to road biking I’ve been riding for about 2 years. I have also been doing some tris here and there. I have also done so crits and road racing. Oh yea and I love climbing. :D My current bike weights about 25 pounds and it is 13 years old. I am a growing boy so I haven’t wanted to spend money then out grow that frame and get a new one. So I ride on a 58cm even though I am 5' 9''. Well never mind about that. How much would it help my climbs and riding to get a bike around 17 lbs considering that I weight 110lbs.

-All in put is helpful thanks.

Hello there. All the answers you want are at http://www.analyticcycling.com/ - interesting site!

Beyond the specifics, considering a similar level of fitness, 8lbs difference (be it on your gut or your bike) will make a significant, noticeable difference in terms of your climbing.

A word of advice, always try to get a frame which is more or less (we all have financial constraints!) the correct size- it will make a world of difference.
:)

Originally posted by Powerful Pete
Hello there. All the answers you want are at http://www.analyticcycling.com/ - interesting site!

Beyond the specifics, considering a similar level of fitness, 8lbs difference (be it on your gut or your bike) will make a significant, noticeable difference in terms of your climbing.

A word of advice, always try to get a frame which is more or less (we all have financial constraints!) the correct size- it will make a world of difference.
:)

Which model should be used at that web site to estimate the "difference" in performance (speed/wats/etc?) due to wheight?

Originally posted by Chaim
Which model should be used at that web site to estimate the "difference" in performance (speed/wats/etc?) due to wheight?

I found the model to calculate the benefits of my weight loses…
It is: http://www.analyticcycling.com/ForcesLessWeight_Page.html
Great web site for numbers lovers!