How much should I offer?

natedanger

Feb 29, 2004
I am a disabled vet looking for a recumbent for exercise. I am 6' 4" so I need a big one. I recently found a local shop with a new BikeE AT XL that the salesperson said the owner was very motivated to sell. I imagine he is motivated being that he has had it for 2 years. It is not even on the floor. It is hung from a rafter in the back corner of the workshop away from customers. The sticker is $1280. What should I offer for this bike? I realize that I will not get a warranty on the frame and that fact alone should knock down the price. Any advice is appreciated.

Nate, I think they have been going for the 650-750 region NIB. I'd start at the low point and
bargain up. If you are very heavy the AT may not work for you. I think the wieght limit on the shock
is 275. You do need the XL size though. Also it's a good Idea to make sure the shock retains air
more than 24 hours. They are repairable, but they sometimes get leaky seals. You will also need a
high pressure (~275 pound) pump for normal shock air use. Be sure to include that unless you have
some means of pumping up the shock. Some have had to pump up the shock often, some have not, but it
will have to happen sooner or later. The BikeE's are a fun bike, not fast, but fun and easy to ride.
A good entry into recumbents,and definitly good exercise" Denny in Sayre, Pa "Bent but not Broken"

natedanger" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I am a disabled vet looking for a recumbent for exercise. I am 6' 4" so I need a big one. I
> recently found a local shop with a new BikeE AT XL that the salesperson said the owner was very
> motivated to sell. I imagine he is motivated being that he has had it for 2 years. It is not even
> on the floor. It is hung from a rafter in the back corner of the workshop away from customers. The
> sticker is $1280. What should I offer for this bike? I realize that I will not get a warranty on