How much slower is an MTB with slicks on the road?

Gingerbread Man

Jul 30, 2007
Hi,

I just started commuting to work again today after a long time. (15 miles each way along English country lanes) on a late 90s Specialized Hard Rock.

There is no way I can afford to go out and buy a road bike but I am just wondering how much extra time and effort it is costing me to commute on an MTB instead of a road bike.

I have put slicks on it (which I rescued from a guy at the dump) - though it still has wide handlebars. there is no suspension. I am guessing that it cant be much heavier than a road frame. So is really that bad a solution?

I am a beginner - I managed an embarrassing 12mph average today - though I can get it up to 16mph.

Any advice for a beginner?

Cheers,

Joe

Gingerbread Man said:
How much slower is an MTB with slicks on the road?
Factor in weight, riding position, gearing, and I'd say 3-5 MPH average.

Gingerbread Man said:
Any advice for a beginner?
Keep riding. As a beginner, actual time in the saddle is your best training aid.

My experience, 3 mph but why worry? It is energy expended that matters unless you are in a race.

Scotty_Dog said:
Factor in weight, riding position, gearing, and I'd say 3-5 MPH average.

Keep riding. As a beginner, actual time in the saddle is your best training aid.