How often do you have to train to see significant results?

yum

Oct 25, 2009
Hey everyone,

Just wondering how often do you guys train in order to really feel and see the results and great ones at that...? oh and how long does it take?

I'm relatively new to the sport but it's just recently that i've wanted to step up.

Any information will be appreciated.

Thanks

Would suggest at least 3 sessions a week at an intensity close to or slightly above your goal pace and building up to goal duration will lead to significant results. Some people do train (as opposed to just riding the bike) 6-7 days a week.

Is there a good reason to ride below intended race pace, outside of recovery periods?

yum said:
Hey everyone,

Just wondering how often do you guys train in order to really feel and see the results and great ones at that...? oh and how long does it take?

I'm relatively new to the sport but it's just recently that i've wanted to step up.

Any information will be appreciated.

Thanks

+1 to the every day responses, but you don't have to think of every ride as "training"...

A couple of years ago I somehow ended up obsessed with running during the off-season and found myself training for a marathon. What I soon realized through a combination of personal experience and reading countless running forum posts (from the running equivalents of DaveRyanWyoming and RDO, among others) was that for runners, consistency is the key. They can't go too hard or too long too often, so they focus on running as often as they can at appropriate speeds and distances to allow for recovery before they run again. I ended up doing doubles to get my mileage up to 70 without hurting myself (which I did anyway).