How to drop about 10-20lbs.?

JoelinNH

Jun 22, 2003
Howdy!

I have been riding consistantly all season, and subscribe to a decent diet, focusing on lower carbs., sugars, and fat grams. However, I would like to lose about another 10lbs. or so, and just can't seem to shake the remaining weight. I am 6' 3", 195lbs.
I ride about 40 miles per day on varying terrain, and do some light aerobic exercise in addition. My day job is physically active and I am always out and about.
Should I focus on my training, or should I look to some type of supplements? Is this a diet problem? Or, maybe a curse of bad genes? Any help is much appreciated. Cheers-Joltron

Your body has adapted to what you're doing, and is in balance. Weekends add a few miles on top of what you did for mileage on last weekend's ride. Get some oat bran tablets, take 3 with each meal.

Sensible diet and exercise are the only non-fad ways of losing weight, anything else is just cylical versions of the same diets. Don't lower carbs, just lower refined carbs (ie. sugars), as you can eat more that way. Also, alcohol has lots of energy in it.

At the end of the day it;s just an energy balance. At the risk of abuse and accustaion of being rascist, American restaurants tend to serve much bigger meal sizes than the rest of the Western world, so you might want to look at cutting down the volume as well if you can't ride more.

1lb of body fat contains 3500 kcals (roughly), if you eat 3500 kcals less than you use you will lose 1lb of body fat!

Its best to acheive this through exercise and diet. Eat 500 kcals less a day (this is only a small amount!) and exercise 500 kcals longer (30 minutes of hard riding) and over a week you will have used 1000 kcals more than consumbed each day ~ 2 lbs a week.

Most diet programs (e.g. slim fast, weight watchers) work on 1200 kcal a day, which for most people (non exercising) give them the 1000 kcal defecit they need to lose 2lbs of weight.