How to improve sprint performance?

carmol

May 14, 2006
One of my cycling problems is sprinting. I'm not satisfied with my sprint peformance. I weight around 72 kg and my height is 1.84 m. My peak power in sprints is 1100 w (5 seconds). This is anything but great; my power profile is up-sloping (15 w/kg for 5 s, 8.4 w/kg for 60 s, 5.1 w/kg for 5 minutes, ftp is not precisely tested yet, but I guess around 4.3 w/kg).

So I could say - well, I'm a typical time trialist (according to Allen/Coggan).

But there is still something to makes me think, I could rather easily improve my sprint performance:
  • I do get my peak power readings a relativly low RPMs - a little below 100.
  • But I'm able to turn the cranks (without resitance) quite fast. I get easily over 200 RPM, peak for 10 seconds has been 217 so far.
Is there a training technique or something that helps me making better use of my ability to spin the pedals fast and using (more) power at the same time?

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that high cadence, as it pertains to sprinting, is mostly an advantage in that you can achieve a higher top speed with a given gearing. So, if you develop your power enough you'll be able to completely spin out in your 54x11! :)

Lower cadence is where you get the highest force on the pedals, and is thus the best way to "jump" as you start your sprint.

p.s. 1100W seems super high to me. But I guess I don't know how that compares to your competitors.

I'm not a coach, but I would say intervals and practicing real sprinting should get you better. My brother used to race bikes in H.S. and college and he would sprint up and down the street with his friends as training.

1100 is not that bad at all....There are plenty of really good top end racers who are around that mark (usually they are really hot at climbing and TTing though)