How To Not Get Your Bike Stolen

Uawadall

Jun 14, 2015
I'm relatively new to cycling and find myself wanting to get on the bike as much as possible. I commute by bus to work(1hr30minutes of torture) and would love to be able to bike to the station. Its only about 4 miles or so and my biggest concern is it getting stolen. I'm not exactly wealthy and bought a used 1200 bike for 800. If it was stolen, that would be a wrap for the year at the least. I probably will not do it because its a short distance and i'd be thinking about it all day.

So the question is, besides a lock, how do you keep your bike from being stolen?

Locks are a deterrent but offer little protection in reality - I'm not a professional thief but I had to attend a locksmithing class while in the Army and it's AMAZING how easy it is to defeat most bike locks. If I'm a halfway competent thief on the hunt for a quick score (and bicycles are easy quick cash) then I could walk away with your bike very easily and quickly.

Not sure where you live but here in the US, it's quite easy to get away with. It really is as simple as walking up to a bike, even in the most crowded of areas and take a small hacksaw to the cable. Carry a BROKEN key and if anyone says anything (and they won't, people like to not get involved) show them the broken key. The only risk you run is having the OWNER catch you.

So the best way to not get your bike stolen, is to not have a bike not worth stealing.

ABNPFDR said:
So the best way to not get your bike stolen, is to not have a bike not worth stealing.
I live in NY and so far I've never worried about the bike being stolen because I'm either ridding it, or its at home. I assumed that their is little to be done in terms of prevention or recourse if it is stolen. Just wanted to here opinions to make sure i'm not being paranoid.

2 options I thought of are: