How to practice riding in a group with no group?

Not much you can do alone that will compare to riding with a group. You can scan through web searches on the subject and become familiar with group ride etiquette and potential signals , you can make sure you can hold a straight line at any pace, you can continue to improve fitness.

I know there are a lot of cycling clubs in Florida because I have searched and considered riding with some while vacationing at the beach. The ones that I sent emails to were friendly and had various levels available based on a variety of fitness levels.

The best thing I could suggest is to jump into a beginners group. If you decide to do this just talk to the ride leader and let them know this is your first group ride and I bet they will watch over you. This is how I started long ago by joining a large metro Atlanta cycling club. It did not take long before I graduated to the next group. The more time you spend observing and then beginning to participate your confidence will grow. After a few years I graduated up to the top group and then began leading rides of those that used to mentor me.

I think the best thing to do is start searching the web to see if the local bike shops have beginner group rides or if there are any local clubs. It seems like just jumping into a beginner group is better than searching for web articles or practicing something alone because so many groups are different in how they work together, use different signals and so on.

Best wishes