How to take advantage knowing Power Rating

novetan

Sep 1, 2012
I'm just a novice cyclist but lately became serious with a grp of friends where we raced against each other in social. I used Strava app and it indicates my Average Power. I hv read a few articles in goole trying to figure out what is that and I still don't quite get it. I understand if 2 riders output are the same and riding the same route and every thing being constant, the one with the lighter body weight will hv an advantage esp. when riding uphill. I believed there are alot of analysis going on being the scene and knowing your rival will gives an advantage with instruction given by the Team Manager (something like that if I'm not wrong).

So on a social competition, where loser buy dinner and drink, and everyone of us has access to peep at each others Power Rating in Strava, at the end of the day after knowing all these datas, in layman's term, how can I take advantage of it. Or how can i improve, know my weakness and how to overcome after knowing my Power Rating.

Or lets say a new comer av Power rating is 300W for his last few rides and mine can never exceed 200W (assuming not the same route), does it means no matter how hard I train, its no point to take up a challenge against this new comer. So I better prepare to buy drinks and dinner anyway?

Strava's power numbers are a wild guess estimate. They do not account for drafting, wind, sprints, body composition, or anything else. Just a rough guess of someone of your approximate weight burning kilojoules over a course of that length and grade, with longer courses being more accurate due to more smoothing over time.

Training with a power meter is a whole other story. It's a much more exact way of prescribing workouts and analyzing past ones. It's accurate down to the second, so every time you stomp on the pedals or stop to adjust your shoe tightness, it's recorded.