how to use look pedals in comparison to spd

Status
Not open for further replies.

den911

May 14, 2003
i have been using spd's now for about 6 months . i have been over on many ocassion and bad knocks on my ankle and shins . i am looking at look pedals on the net can anyone tell me how you get in and out of them and is it safer or easier than spd or is it the same i know you should allow some time to get used to them , but i have this habbit of forgeting to slip out at a stand still or struggle and end up trying to jump out of them my fault i know and not the pedals i was just wondering if anyone out there as had same prob and changed to look pedals . i would like to say that when my feet are in there i would not have anything else . thanks

On 18 Aug 2003 04:43:45 +0950, den911 <[email protected]> wrote:

>i have been using spd's now for about 6 months . i have been over on many ocassion and bad knocks
>on my ankle and shins . i am looking at look pedals on the net can anyone tell me how you get in
>and out of them and is it safer or easier than spd or is it the same i know you should allow some
>time to get used to them , but i have this habbit of forgeting to slip out at a stand still or
>struggle and end up trying to jump out of them my fault i know and not the pedals i was just
>wondering if anyone out there as had same prob and changed to look pedals . i would like to say
>that when my feet are in there i would not have anything else . thanks

Well, if your problem with SPDs is that you just keep forgetting you are clipped in then you'll
likely not benefit from a switch to Looks. I haven't used them myself but I understand Looks have a
similar engage/release method to SPuDs. Shoe clips in with a downward and forward motion, and
releases with rotation of the foot, a panic unclipping shouldn't be any easy with looks than your
current setup.

Have you tried lowering the tension on your existing pedals? Most Shimano models can be