HR went up after a long rest

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by eortiz, Mar 8, 2006.

1. eortiz

eortiz New Member

So I started riding again regularly. My max. (I can't catch my breath ) HR is 160 bpm. Although before, I can go up to 170bpm. Ok so now I've had a good 2 weeks rest and lost some weight (about 8 lbs). When I climbed a hill, same hill where I blow up at 160 bpm, I saw my HRM registering 165bpm. I pushed myslef some more and saw that 170 bpm is my max (I can't catch my breath) HR. Can anyone make sense of this? I've been told HR tend to be lower with a higher power output (faster on climb or flats) as you get fitter which makes sense. More work for less effort. But how can I explain my situation? Thanks for any inputs. "keep the rubber side down"

Tags:

2. frenchyge

frenchyge New Member

My explanation would be that you don't have any idea what your max HR is, but it's higher than you've ever seen it. The reason you're able to observe a higher HR since you've been riding more regularly is because you're in better shape and able to push your body harder before you feel like you have to quit.

3. Spunout

Spunout New Member

True. As you are well rested and relatively new to training, your HR will be higher. Even the well trained will witness high HRs for relative power output when coming back from a long rest.

Also true, MaxHR isn't really worth anything. You are best to note your ventilatory threshold (160) or your best constant state (1 hour) HR and work from that.

4. blackstud25

blackstud25 New Member

As you get fitter you have to push yourself harder to get that heart rate up

5. WarrenG

WarrenG New Member

I dunno. Many people find that as they get fitter their HR responds quicker.

After training consistently for a few weeks or so you'll increase your blood volume and your stroke volume will probably increase too. These will encourage slightly lower HR's for a certain effort.

6. blackstud25

blackstud25 New Member