Hybrid bike = road bike + mtb handlebars?

Lrac6

Jun 20, 2006
Hello all, I am a biking newbie.

I want to start commuting (7 miles - city & suburb), and doing 10-30mile rides for fitness. I don't like drop handlebars, so I think that a hybrid bike would be best for me. I have been looking at the Trek 7.2, 7.3, and 7.5 FXs.

My question is this: I don't have much money, and used hybrids seem fairly hard to come by. Used road bikes seem much more common. Can I buy a used road bike and put a mountain bike-like handlebar on it, and is it then essentially a hybrid bike? do I need to replace the stem too? Am I missing something more fundamental that differentiates a hybrid bike from a road bike?

Thanks for the advice,
Carl

You can just do the ol flip up the drop handlebar trick. still see it all the time and it will allow you to check out the rest of the bike.

It's cheap!

Like I said, I'm a newbie, so let me clarify.

You mean remove the drop handlebars from the stem, flip them over, and re-attach?
Is this an implicit 'yes' to my question about the difference between hybrids and road bikes?

Thanks again.

Dont remove anything.
Just loosen the bolt on the stem, Rotate them toward the saddle and retighten. Try a couple of positions of rotation and see if you can find one thats comfortable.

It's not pretty but not a bad ride really. The brake location may be an issue.

If you like the bike and want that flat bar look then the LBS will set you up with a bar, brakes and posibly a new stem.

Lrac6 said:
Like I said, I'm a newbie, so let me clarify.

You mean remove the drop handlebars from the stem, flip them over, and re-attach?
Is this an implicit 'yes' to my question about the difference between hybrids and road bikes?

Thanks again.

Hybrids have a pretty upright geometry. The rider sits more upright than on a mountain bike or a road bike. Many hybrids have a front shock like a mountain bike but the shock isn't as heavy duty and their usefulness is dubious(to me).