Hybrid, flat bar or (comfortable) road bike

2Wh33l5

Nov 12, 2007
Hi!

I am a newbie looking to buy a road bike weighted hybrid or a proper road bike with less aggressive geometry. It will be mainly for riding to and from work along a bike paths rather than on the road. I have had a mountain bike and a hybrid bike with suspension forks and am looking for something lighter and faster.

I have gone through a lot of the posts in these forums and "decided" the following is what I would like in order of priority:

1) Light (<10 kg) and "fast" - my current hybrid is about 12.5kg (too heavy)
2) Comfortable - I do not want to place much strain on my back
3) Durable - I don't want the wheel to buckle the first time it hits a twig : ) - I am not heavy (75kg)
4) Quality gears and derailleurs (at least 105, preferably Ultegra)
5) Reasonable cost - ideally <$1500, at most $2000
6) I'm happy to buy a good second hand bike
7) It should last me at least 3 years
8) I will not be racing - just hopefully caning down bike paths and up hills

One of the main problems is I can't decide whether to get a road bike like the OCR which has more relaxed geomtery or a flat bar road bike - what is the difference between the two with respect to comfort?

The true hybrids would be a great option (as I like the possibility of putting mud guards on) except they seem too heavy.

I would be grateful for any opinions! Thanks

Hi, I have a fitness hybrid (trek fx), and I enjoy riding it.
But, I've been lucky enough try out a flat-bar roadie & a true road bike.
Both of bikes I tried were definitely faster than my current bike, although a bit rough on the bumps. The dropbars on the roadie felt quite natural to me, but I found the fit too aggressive for long days in the saddle.

My conclusion - my next bike I will buy will be a touring bike.
What would suit me would be a relaxed geometry, the option of wider tyres, low gearing, dropbars and the ability to put on racks & mudguards.