I am "Hill Challenged" looking for training advice

Royster

Jan 15, 2004
I have been riding for 2 years. I ride regularly in crits. I seem to go well on flatter terrain, however when I hit the hills i seem to lose it.

I have recently lost a few Kg's which has helped but on the hills, I either seem to lactate from pushing a too big gear or from spinning at a too higher cadence.

Can some one advise me on tecnique or training drills to help me on the hills.

Cheers,
Royster

Originally posted by Royster
I have been riding for 2 years. I ride regularly in crits. I seem to go well on flatter terrain, however when I hit the hills i seem to lose it.

I have recently lost a few Kg's which has helped but on the hills, I either seem to lactate from pushing a too big gear or from spinning at a too higher cadence.

Cheers,
Royster

This may be old info to you but sit back on the saddle while grasping the handlebars near the center. Use your arms to help pull while getting full power stroke with your legs. When you approach a hill find the right gear and try to maintain your cadence as long as possible without overextending yourself

Two more things ride more hills and ride more hills and oh yes try ridding more hills. :cool:

I'm no expert myself. It's said there are natural climbers out there who just have a knack for climbing.
My only advice is you should divide your hill work up into grades as follows:
(1) Hills that appear flat but go on for miles and are very tiring for this reason. It's only when you turn back in the other direction and roll that you realise you were climbing in the first place. Such light hills are good for fitness and stamina.
(2) Rolling hills are fun to climb and can be done in higher gears within reason. I prefer medium range climbing work since they're great for fitness.