i had cold and flu after cycling

stevechow

Mar 11, 2006
i have been cycling for 2 years. i cycle at least once a week. i used to cycle a lot before that.

one thing i noticed is after cycling i will get cold and flu the next morning. how to prevent it? :eek: it gets better after rest and sleep. anyone can share or relate to this experience? i love cycling but i always had cold :D

stevechow said:
i have been cycling for 2 years. i cycle at least once a week. i used to cycle a lot before that.

one thing i noticed is after cycling i will get cold and flu the next morning. how to prevent it? :eek: it gets better after rest and sleep. anyone can share or relate to this experience? i love cycling but i always had cold :D
You're saying that each and every time you ride a bicycle you come down with a cold and the flu the following morning???? That's sure what your post sounds like but that can't be accurate. Are you saying you catch colds more often after cycling or have had an unusual number of bouts with the flu since taking up cycling? That would at least be plausible.

First, you need to come into contact with the cold virus to catch a cold. Getting cold or chilled will not give you a cold regardless of what myths you've heard. Now if you get overly tired out or don't eat well or expend a lot of energy shivering or cycling long miles or crash dieting or a number of other things your immune system may be compromised making it more likely to catch that cold instead of sucessfully fending off yet another viral exposure. So are you eating well, sleeping well and working up from easy cycling to longer and harder rides? Or are you missing out on something your body needs to be healthy and then piling on long or hard rides without building up to it first?