I hate hills........help!

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Scott, Jun 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scott

Scott Guest

Any advice will be appreciated. Here is the deal....... I recently moved from Atlanta where I rode
    the Silver Comet trail. Not alot of hills. Now there are nothing but dang hills. It has really taken
    the enjoyment out of riding for me. What used to great day of riding 4-6 hours is now 45 minutes of
    "lord please help me make it up this hill, and the next one too". On the flat trail I could pace
    myself and make a day of it. With the hills it is blow up and recover. Note..I am not attacking
    either, trying to pace. Repeated blow up and recover is killing me. Just not fun anymore. Thanks for
    the advice, Scott FYI- 33yo, 190 lbs

Tags:

2. Mikeyankee

Mikeyankee Guest

You didn't say where "here" is.

I started riding as an adult in my late 40's and went through a phase of hating hills like you. But
    then I saw how much they helped my riding.

I'm 58 now and live in an area where there are few flat rides, and I love it.

My cycling mentor was fond of saying, "Hills build strength. Headwinds built character. You
    need both."

Mike Yankee

(Address is munged to thwart spammers. To reply, delete everything after "com".)

3. Tom Keats

Tom Keats Guest

In article <[email protected]>, "Scott"
    <@earthlink.net> writes:
    > Any advice will be appreciated. Here is the deal....... I recently moved from Atlanta where I rode
    > the Silver Comet trail. Not alot of hills. Now there are nothing but dang hills. It has really
    > taken the enjoyment out of riding for me. What used to great day of riding 4-6 hours is now 45
    > minutes of "lord please help me make it up this hill, and the next one too". On the flat trail I
    > could pace myself and make a day of it. With the hills it is blow up and recover. Note..I am not