I have just begun road biking and I need to know some training tips on long distance.

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by mdquik, Jan 2, 2007.

1. mdquik

mdquik New Member

So I have got my new road bike and this is a hobby Im just starting out on. I road my new bike for about 25 miles and absolutely fell in love w/ it. So I would really like to do training for marathons, cancer rides, etc. and I need to know how to train myself on the road and the gym. I am going to be doing a two day 100 mile race in May I would like to know how I can finish by pacing myself and finishing in good time. So any help or tips would be appreciated.

Tags:

2. wiredued

wiredued New Member

Completing a long distance ride is mostly about refueling I use about one fifth gatorade with one or more teaspoons of raw honey on cool days I use more raw honey because I don't drink as much. If there are significant hills involved then drafting will not help you and the cycling geeks will pull away from the slower riders. If you want to perform better than the average rider training at higher intensities will be necessary.

L2 Endurance all day pace where your breathing just begins to pick up but you could continue for 5 or more hours at that pace. L3 Tempo seems to be limited to around 3 hours. L4 is Threshold at high L4 105% FTP Time trail pace its painful and you're toast within an hour, at 100% painful but a little more sustainable. L5 VO2 Max 5 minutes and you need recovery in L1 Active Recovery or L2 Endurance for about the same amount of time depending on how high into L5 you were. L6 Anerobic Capacity about one minute. L7 Nuero Muscular Power about a 15 second sprint. There are combinations of these zones also ie if you stay between High L3 and low L4 (Sweet Spot Training or SST) you can go more than an hour and get the benefits of L4 most importantly raising FTP (Functional Threshold Power or hour power)