I know heart rate doesn't matter, but...

Dave K

Nov 14, 2003
I'm just curious about something. I've been doing a lot of L3, L4, L5 work during the past couple of months. This usually consists of three consecutive hard days followed by two or three days of recovery. Before I began really focusing on L4/L5, my average heart rate during an L4 workout (2x20, 2x30) was always between 165 and 170. Now, I usually average between 155 and 160 during my 2x30s, even towards the end of the interval. RPE is the same, and my SRM offset/slope have been verified many times. I feel as though I'm getting adequate rest between training blocks, and I know that heart rate only tells you how fast your heart is beating :), but is this normal behavior? I've been riding for about 12 years now, so it's not as though I was untrained before November, although this is the first time I've really honed in on so much L4 work. Everything else has slid down by about 10bpm, too. The top of my endurance range is about 140 (was 150), tempo 150 (was 160), etc. My FTP has been steadily improving, but it just seems odd to do a 40k time trial at 155 BPM! Has anyone else experienced this, or am I just growing a second heart??

Dave K said:
My FTP has been steadily improving, but it just seems odd to do a 40k time trial at 155 BPM! Has anyone else experienced this, or am I just growing a second heart??
It's been like this for me for the colder weather, but as soon as I get on the rollers inside it goes right back to what I would expect for "in-season" heart rates. YMMV.