I lost, but I won... And thanks Vo2 :)

Feanor

Jul 21, 2003
I've posted for a few months now, some of you may have read some of the posts of stories, requests for advice, comments and opinions... I'm still a newbie road cyclist and will consider myself one until my first formal race. I ride for the pure fun of it, and the satisfaction... I ride with a goal of improving in mind... When it hurts, it feels good, it feels healthy and positive...

I ride when I am angry, and when I am feeling good... When I'm at home and fidgety I go into the garage and work on my bike wether it needs it or not... I watch about 1/50th the amount of TV as I used to since I began road cycling, and of that 1/50th almost all of it is cycling related (OLN) or the History Channel.

My wife regularly stares at me in disbelief in the kitchen now and at the dinner table because I am making a conscious effort after years and years to eat more vegetables and fruit and less fatty foods, soda and other junk food, and all of this because I want those extra seconds in my 5 mile interval, and I want to make it to the top of that long climb without panting and falling over at the top...

I think I hit a milestone just last weekend... I picked up Chris Carmichaels book "The Ultimate Ride" and wether you like or hate Chris Carmichael and the whole CTS training phenomena, I'm looking at it more as picking up information and tips and advice everywhere I can... Quite alot is said at the beginning of the book about mental toughness and being strong in the mind and confident... I remember how it said that he had met many cyclists who were steeped in physical talent and yet failed because they were weak in the mind and didn't risk in order to achieve.