i need cheap tools

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by The Dork Knight, May 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. i am new to bikes and very new to bike mechanics but i ma looking for some decent and cheap tools to
    learn on. maybe an inexpensive truing stand also.

Tags:

2. In article <[email protected]>, "the dork knight"
    <[email protected]> wrote:

> i am new to bikes and very new to bike mechanics but i ma looking for some decent and cheap tools
    > to learn on. maybe an inexpensive truing stand also.

What's your budget? Bike Doctor on Commercial (from your e-mail address, I'm guessing it's within
    driving distance) has a starter bike tool set for $100.

Or you can do what I do and buy tools as you need them for the job at hand.

Either way, you should start with a good standard set of tools, probably something including metric
    combination wrenches, sockets, a crescent wrench or two, metric allen keys, various screwdrivers,
    pliers, etc. You can't go wrong with Craftsman, but I have a generic set from Canadian Tire, and it
    is well made.

oddball non-bike tools that are useful: 10 mm allen key, for doing freehub body removal and
    installation.

rudimentary truing can be done on the bike.

--
    Ryan Cousineau, [email protected] http://www.sfu.ca/~rcousine President, Fabrizio Mazzoleni Fan Club

3. Java Man

Java Man Guest

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
    > In article <[email protected]>, "the dork knight"
    > <[email protected]> wrote:
    >
    > > i am new to bikes and very new to bike mechanics but i ma looking for some decent and cheap
    > > tools to learn on. maybe an inexpensive truing stand also.
    >
    > What's your budget? Bike Doctor on Commercial (from your e-mail address, I'm guessing it's within
    > driving distance) has a starter bike tool set for $100.
    >