I want to start bicycle commuting

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Taro, Jul 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taro

Taro Guest

I am a university student in Tokyo. I came to Tokyo this Spring. And I was tired from trains filled
    with people! So I decide to commute by bicycle. Please tell me what bicycle is good . The length
    between my room and university is about 16 km. And please advise some tips.

Tags:

2. taro wrote:
    > I am a university student in Tokyo. I came to Tokyo this Spring. And I was tired from trains
    > filled with people! So I decide to commute by bicycle. Please tell me what bicycle is good . The
    > length between my room and university is about 16 km. And please advise some tips.

the best tip is not to overthink things and just do it.

Any bike will work -- as you're just starting, I'd buy one through the want ads or from a friend.
    Just have a mechanic look it over before you start.

scott

3. Arous

Arous Guest

Hi,

I commute about that same distance...About 10 years ago I bought a nice 'used' road bicycle from a
    reputable bicycle dealer and put some panniers, lights and fenders on it and I still use it to this
    very day...In fact it's probably one of the best investments I've ever made! I keep it in top
    working order and I only use top line parts and equipment on it. To do less would only mean flats,
    breakdowns and such.

I keep a change of clothes in my panniers (Dockers, Underware, Socks, Street Shoes, Sport Shirt &
    Sport Coat) I also carry a laptop computer in a back pack I use! I have a shower at work so I arrive
    about half hour before I start work and shower and relax before the day begins...You'll find you'll
    be more alert as the morning ride tends to really get the blood flowing...The same can be said for
    the ride home too as you ride off the stress of a busy day!