Ideal training schedule for 1 hour races on limited time

jb444

Nov 2, 2010
As the title says, I am wondering what is the best way to approach training for 1 hour xc races over the summer, and 1 hour cyclocross races over the winter. The main limiter being time, I am planning on 6 to 8 hours per week.

I have been racing for the past 3 years, but have always planned based on between 10 and 14 hours weekly. However, it has become increasingly difficult to stick to the plan, I have been finding that most weeks are falling short against planned workouts. Also, I probably had too many junk miles, I would have planned a progression from sweetspot/threshold/vo2 but looking back too many of these were the "missed" session and there was too high a ratio of jra/skills sessions and probably not enough quality.

So for this upcoming cyclocross season and the following xc season I want to rethink and base on a more realistic target of 6-8 hours per week, and make every session count.

One solution that keeps popping up is the Chris Carmichael Time Crunched Cyclist plan, but is this really the only way to go on such limited time. And how to work it based on xc season from April to August and Cyclocross season from October to January.

Some more info that may or may not help

- I will hope to plan workouts on Tuesdays,Thursdays and Fridays ( probably mostly indoors on a trainer for about 60 mins ) and Saturday and Sundays probably up to 2 hours outdoors on these weekend days. Any other days is a bonus, and would probably also be indoors.
- FTP currently 240 had peaked last season at 270, weight 168lbs, age 49

any suggestions / comments

Focus on 2 things if you have limited time
1. Upcoming races and the course profile. Look at the demands of the event and set up sessions to meet those demands