If anyone can point me in the right direction

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by Aselitto, Mar 29, 2011.

1. Aselitto

Aselitto New Member

I am 6'1" and 210 Pounds I am currently running and I am looking to start doing biathlons and some trail riding. I figured I should be getting a 20" frame. I am looking for a beginner bike, I made the mistake of buying a 100$ walmart special and tore a peddle off on my first hill. I dont have a lot of money, and i dont know exactly where to shop for a used bike. Im guessing if i buy offline the shipping will be very expensive. Or if there is a cheap alternative. I am willing to build or put together the parts. I live in Northern New Jersey. If you have any info or advice I would greatly Appreciate it. I am just getting into this and I would like to know if there is a cheap way to get into it, or if i should really just save up a little while and get something decent.

Tags:

2. Randy Bosma

Randy Bosma New Member

Yes. Maybe check Craig's list for a better used bike to get you started with less cash outlay.

Your height & weight are very similar to where I started about 2 years ago. A Trek 7.3FX has served me well for over 3000 miles now. I am currently pining after an even better model, a road bike so I can participate in the week-long RAGBRAI 2012. Strange things happen when you get into better shape. ;-)

3. swampy1970

swampy1970 Well-Known Member

At 6'1", a 20" frame is way too small - if you're looking at road (or 'cross) bikes. Something around the 23" mark would be closer. Most road bikes are sold in centimeter sizes - so start around the 58 to 60cm range and go from there. For a mountain bike then 20" may be about right.