I'm brand new to bicycling and I'm looking to buy my first bike (touring)

mrhihat

Dec 29, 2010
Ok, almost brand new. Of course I rode a bike as a kid.
I've been looking at bikes and browsing forums and trying to understand weird bike terms for awhile now, and I think it's time for me to start seriously looking at what to buy. The problem is, I have no idea where to begin. I know that I want to start touring at some point in the near future, but unfortunately most touring specific bikes are way beyond my budget, about 400, maaaaybe 500 dollars, max. I'd much rather spend 300-400, or less if I could find something used, as I also need to get racks and panniers. I could just spend more on a bike now, and add on racks in a few months when I have more money, and I'll probably build my own panniers, (I'm thrifty...Ok, I'm cheap).

So, do you folks have any recommendations? I don't really want to have to buy another bike any time soon, so if I just got a road bike (which I'm also considering) instead of a touring specific bike, which seem very costly, I'd want to make sure I'd be able to add front racks if I ever needed to.

Thoughts? Recommendations?
I greatly appreciate the fact that there's a place for beginners to come and learn a thing or two. Maybe even three things, hopefully : P

Thanks

Considering your limited budget and desire to go touring, I'd say that used is the way to go. Craigslist is an excellent source, and of course there's eBay. Look for a used Trek touring bike, I believe the 520 was (is) a touring model. As long as you know you correct frame size, you should be able to find something if you're patient. Most regular road bikes do not have the provisions for loaded touring, such as eyelets on the frame to attach racks, etc. And lightweight frames are not designed to take the extra weight. So be very careful when you're looking at bikes. Check back here if are looking at a prospect and we can help. Good luck, Steve

Originally Posted by mrhihat .