Im new, need help Picking the right bicycle.

Jewishjalopi

Apr 1, 2003
Hi Everyone,

Im new to the cycling scene, but I would really like help to pick out a new bike that would fit my riding style the best. I honestly dont have the money to pay for gas anymore and i like getting excersise by riding my bike wherever i can go without a car. I am 6'2'' and I am currently riding an old nishiki modulus that was made for my neighbor (he is around 5'7''). The bike does not fit me real well and my legs do not feel as comfortable on the bike as they should. My budget is pretty small and I would like to spend around $500-700 for a new road bike. I have been to many bike stores in the past couple weeks and have looked at lots of different companies. ie. Cannondale, Fuji, Raliegh, Specialized, Giant etc...

I would like to get everyones input on what bike would be the best for my size and dollar. Do any bicycle companies make more specialized bikes for larger people? Ohh ya, I would like to hear about bikes that i can find that retail about $829 and lower because i can probably find them on sale for $700.

Thanks for all the help,

Jon

...to find a bike that fits you right from any of the companies you have mentioned. And, for your budget, you should definately find a pretty decent ride to boot!

The best way to go about things when you shop between bikes is to go by fit first, components second and frame material a distant third. First, find a bike (or two) that fits you right...that you feel really good and comfortable on.