Improvement ceiling and strategy?

hrumpole

Jan 4, 2011
I've been riding for two years, and have had the PM for about a month, and have read big chunks of the "killing me" thread. Still on a steep learning curve, and realize that I have a very long way to go. I have three "A" events around which I'd like to peak, and they're within a week of each other in September. A century in mid/late july, an olympic-distance triathlon in early september, and a 100 mile gran fondo that runs the following Sunday.

My questions are aimed at the bike. Per the "Book", I've tested my LT, and am basically focusing on SST/LT work, with some other intervals thrown in, but the overwhelming amount of time being spent @ high L3 low L4. This is my first year trying structured training. My limit on the trainer is one hour if I want to get off wanting to ride again. FTP=181 per 20 min test. According to the CP60 curves of my ride, it's risen 10w in 2 weeks. And on the weight side of the w/kg equation, I could stand to lose ten easily. (current w/kg=2.2).

In general, my hope is to continue to put about 2 hrs per week in SST/LT work (perhaps 3-3.5 hrs total trainer time) and then two weight sessions plus yoga till the weather gets nice, which is basically March/April. When that happens, start mixing SST with longer efforts outside (2-3hrs), with weekly training hours going up closer to 8-10 in the summer, but that will have to include running and swimming. I have no formal "plan" yet other than trying to raise sustainable power. GIven the weather, seems to be the best idea right now.

I guess my questions are (1) whether the idea of riding 100 miles is incompatible with training for a fast 40k in the olympic within a week, and whether it's possible to give both a good effort; and (2) whether I'm better of periodizing this using two high-intensity blocks along the lines of the time-crunched cyclist training plan, or doing a more traditional base/build. How would you approach this?