Improving a Scott S50

gatucar

Sep 13, 2007
Hey guys,

I am pretty new to biking. For $ reasons I got a Scott S50 (It was the cheapest with triple chainring). I think that it is not a bad bike for the price I paid (550 US dollars). My concern is about the weight (21.1 lbs). I know that in cheap bicycles everything is a bit heavier than in high end bikes. However, the frame is just about 2.7 lbs and maybe there is somebody out there that can detect a component that is especially heavy and easy to replace.

The pedals are cheap but they do not seem heavy.

Thank you for your comments.

These are the specs of the bike

Weight

9.6 kg / 21.1 lbs

Frame

Lite Alloy tubing Road geometry 7005 Alloy D. Butted Integrated Headtube

Fork

Carbon 1 1/8" steel steerer integrated

Headset

Integrated Steel Cup

Rear Derailleur

Shimano Sora RD 3303 24 speed

Front Derailleur

Shimano Sora FD-3303

Shifters

Shimano Sora ST-3303 Dual control 24 speed

Brake Levers

-

Brakes

Scott Pro SCBR-530 Cartridge Pads

Crankset

Truvativ ISOFLOW 30/42/52 T

Bottom Bracket Set

Truvativ 07BB 68/113

Handlebar

Scott Road Drop OS Anatomic 31.8mm

H-Stem

Scott Road Team OS 1-1/8" / four bolt

Pedals

Seatpost

Carbon / Alloy 31.6mm

Seat

Scott Road

Hub (front)

Scott Comp

Hub (rear)

Shimano 2200

Chain

KMC IG 51

Cassette

Shimano CN-HG50-8 12-25 T

Spokes

DT-Swiss Champion Black 2mm

Rims

Alex-R500 black Front / Rear 32H

Tires

Conti Ultra Sport 700x23 C

THANK YOU

clip_image001.gif

gatucar said:
maybe there is somebody out there that can detect a component that is especially heavy and easy to replace.

The rider .........

You can spend a whole bunch of money an not lighten the bike that much, but if you dropped 5 lbs of body weight it would be a much bigger gain.

capwater said:
The rider .........

You can spend a whole bunch of money an not lighten the bike that much, but if you dropped 5 lbs of body weight it would be a much bigger gain.