improving ability to climb hills - help

samcrx3

Apr 25, 2005
I seemed to have plateaued with my riding and I don't seem to be able to tackle hills very well, no matter how many times I go for a hilly ride l lose everyone on the hills. Today I went for a short 50 minute ride before I picked up my 3 yr old from preschool. There were significant hills to climb and I was only able to manage to do 6 - 8 km/hr up the hills. I just don't seem be able to get any faster, and I'm totally buggered after I get up to the top. Technically I should have an advantage up the hills because I weigh 53kg. Any ideas what I can do to increase my ability to climb? climb hills more often? I'm fairly new to cycling and have been riding for about 6 months. I'm no where near the ability of racing club riders. Any suggestions will be very helpful.
Thanks, Sam

The only thing I've found to help me climb better is more climbing. I don't workout (other than cycling) so I don't know for sure, but maybe some weight training (squats/lunges) may help. The other thing that really helped has been learning to go by my perceived exertion instead of my speed. If I concentrate solely on speed, I blow up very early on the climb (due to big gears and pushing hard). However, if I focus on my breathing and spin I find myself climbing much faster. I don't have much muscle (about 128 lbs and over 6 feet tall), so I must make the best use of my lungs and heart. I think that's why spinning up the hills as oppose to mashing helps me the most. Good luck!

bmph8ter said: