Incompatibility Issues with Campag Eurus and Shimano

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Veeral, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. Veeral

    Veeral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I've heard that there are some incompatibility issues using Campag wheels with Shimano cassette. Does anyone here currently own a set of Campag Eurus with a shimano bike ? If so what type of cassette did you install to overcome this incompatibility issue? My bike is a shimano 105 setup and I have an inclination to purchase a set of Eurus.

    I'd appreciate if anyone can give me any tips on how to go about handling this problem.


    Thanks in advance

    Veeral
     
    Tags:


  2. rek

    rek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the incompatibility is just with the cassette fitting, I'd assume that it'd just be a matter of ordering the wheel with the proper type of cassette body for a Shimano 9 speed system (if it's available..)
     
  3. Ted B

    Ted B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is possible to get the Eurus in Shimano compatible configuration, albeit at a slightly higher cost (+$40 USD or so).
     
  4. Veeral

    Veeral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am just curious is there some issue with placing a shimano cassette on a campag rear hub ?
     
  5. Veeral

    Veeral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about if place a campag 9 speed cassette with spacers to convert it into a shimano 9 speed cassette?
     
  6. drewski

    drewski New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't think you can put the shimano cassette on the campy free-hub because of differences in the spline patterns (though you could probably machine the splines to make them fit)

    but look here for some more info on spacing differences:
    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/k7.html#spacing

    and look here for a spacer kit to use a campy cassette w/ your shimano deraileurs.
    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harris/k7.html#spacers

    good luck!
     
  7. Duckwah

    Duckwah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll let you know when my protons turn up today and i try to put a shimano cassettes on them !!

    I talked to the bike shop and they said that all you have to do is ask for the shimano freehub body on the wheels when you order them
     
  8. boudreaux

    boudreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    0
    You cannot put a shimano casette on a campy spline hub, and the splines cannot be machined to make it work either,due to a lack of enough meat in the hub body.
     
  9. mikeo

    mikeo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Duckwah

    Duckwah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just installed my shimano cassette onto the campag Protons and they seem to work fine

    you have to ask for them with a shimano freehub and then its no hassle
     
  11. Veeral

    Veeral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks Duckwah. I'll do that.
     
Loading...
Loading...